Banff criteria for acute cell mediated rejection

What is the banff criteria for acute cell mediated rejection?

The Banff classification of kidney allograft rejection grades acute tubulointerstitial rejection

How is the grading of this criteria done?

This criteria grades acute tubulointerstitial rejection by severity of tubulitis and acute vascular rejection by severity of arteritis.

There are 5 Types of T cell mediated rejection

• Type IA: Cases with significant interstitial infiltration by lymphocytes (which means more than 25% of parenchyma affected) and foci of moderate tubulitis

• Type IB: Cases with significant interstitial infiltration of lymphocytes (roughly greater than 25% of parenchyma affected) and foci of severe tubulitis

• Type IIA: Cases with mild to moderate intimal arteritis

• Type IIB: Cases with severe intimal arteritis

• Type III: Cases with transmural arteritis and/or arterial fibrinoid change and necrosis of medial smooth muscle cells with accompanying lymphocytic inflammation


Sign up to receive the trending updates and tons of Health Tips

Join SeekhealthZ and never miss the latest health information