Stages of Change Model

What are Stages of Change Model

What are the stages in the Stages of Change Model and are they clinically valid? 

The Stages of Change Model, while heuristically valuable, has not been found to validly reflect any actual sequentially discrete sequence of change. The stages in the model are as follows:

  • Precontemplation: characterized by denial and minimization
  • Contemplation: characterized by thinking about change
  • Preparation: characterized by making preparations to do something
  • Action: characterized by actually implementing concrete actions directed at the problem
  • Maintenance: characterized by implementing change-maintaining actions


Sign up to receive the trending updates and tons of Health Tips

Join SeekhealthZ and never miss the latest health information

Scroll to Top