The 2020 update of the CEAP classification system and reporting standards – Important Additions

What is the The 2020 update of the CEAP classification system and reporting standards

CEAP stands for Clinical-Etiology-Anatomy-Pathophysiology. This classification is an internationally accepted standard used to describe patients with chronic venous disorders.

This classification has also been used for reporting clinical research findings in scientific journals.

CEAP was developed in 1993, updated in 1996, and revised in 2004.

CEAP is a classification system based on clinical manifestations of chronic venous disorders, on current understanding of the etiology, the involved anatomy, and the underlying venous pathology.

Here is the report which is published in the “Journal of Vascular Surgery: Venous and Lymphatic Disorders in the month of May 2020.

C – Clinical Manifestations, E – Etiology, A – Anatomic Distribution, P – Pathophysiology

C0No visible or palpable signs of venous disease
C1Telangiectasis or reticular veins
C2Varicose veins
C2rRecurrent Varicose veins
C3 Edema
C4Changes in skin and subcutaneous tissue secondary to chronic venous disease
C4aPigmentation or eczema
C4bLipodermatosclerosis or atrophie blanche
C4cCorona Phlebectatica
C6Active Venous Ulcer
C6rRecurrent Active Venous Ulcer

Certain changes are added in this update, which includes adding Corona phlebectatica as the C4c clinical subclass, introducing the modifier “r” for recurrent varicose veins and recurrent venous ulcers, and replacing numeric descriptions of the venous segments by their common abbreviations.


Sign up to receive the trending updates and tons of Health Tips

Join SeekhealthZ and never miss the latest health information

Scroll to Top