Various types of kidney transplant rejection as defined by time

What are the various types of kidney transplant rejection as defined by time?

Usually there here are three general types of organ rejection:

  • 1. Hyperacute
  • 2. Acute
  • 3. Chronic

Hyperacute Rejection

  • Hyperacute Rejection is a complement-mediated response by the recipient with preexisting donor specific antibodies (DSA).
  • This type of rejection occurs almost immediately following organ implantation.
  • This Hyperacute Rejection necessitates immediate explant of the organ.
  • Hyperacute rejection is uncommon with pre-transplantation cross-matches and screening.

Acute Rejection

  • Acute rejection is often associated with a sudden deterioration in allograft function
  • This type of rejection most commonly happens as early as one week post-transplantation.
  • Acute rejection may also be subclinical
  • This Acute rejection is associated with a more insidious rise in creatinine.
  • Acute rejection has a major adverse effect on long-term graft survival.

Chronic Rejection

  • Chronic rejection, better defined as chronic antibody-mediated rejection (AMR), is the main cause of late allograft loss
  • This Chronic rejection is defined histologically as transplant glomerulopathy (TG).

Sign up to receive the trending updates and tons of Health Tips

Join SeekhealthZ and never miss the latest health information