How is osteoporosis diagnosed

How is osteoporosis diagnosed

Osteoporosis can be diagnosed by any of three criteria: fragility fracture, low bone density, high FRAX risk score.

  • Fragility fracture criteria
    • • The presence or history of a fragility fracture establishes a diagnosis of osteoporosis, regardless of the BMD T-score.
  • Bone densitometry criteria
    • • BMD T-score below a diagnostic level at any site indicates the presence of osteoporosis in a patient aged >50 years without fractures; the diagnostic T-score ranges are as follows:
T-score ≥–1Normal
T-score between –1 and –2.5Osteopenia
T-score ≤–2.5Osteoporosi

FRAX risk assessment criteria

  • • A FRAX risk score (10-year): >3% for hip fracture or >20% for major osteoporosis fractures can also be used to diagnose osteoporosis.

Sign up to receive the trending updates and tons of Health Tips

Join SeekhealthZ and never miss the latest health information

Scroll to Top